Other Events Archive

International Year of Crystallography logo

International Year of Crystallography 2014

Wednesday, January 1, 2014 to Wednesday, December 31, 2014

The International Year of Crystallography 2014 (IYCr2014) commemorates not only the centennial of X-ray diffraction, which allowed the detailed study of crystalline material, but also the 400th anniversary of Kepler’s observation in 1611 of the symmetrical form of ice crystals, which began the wider study of the role of symmetry in matter.

Event

National Chemistry Week 2013

Sunday, October 20, 2013 to Saturday, October 26, 2013

National Chemistry Week 2013's theme is: Energy Now and Forever!  

Event

Workshop: Universal Design of Educational Programs Workshop

Tuesday, July 30, 2013 to Wednesday, July 31, 2013

The Universal Design of Educational Programs workshop is intended for museum educators who develop and conduct educational programs or train those who do. Invited workshop participants will have a hands-on opportunity to apply NISE Net's universal design guidelines to a current NISE Net program and collect feedback on their progam from people with disabilities using the Team-Based Inquiry approach. 

Event

Workshop: NISE Net Bilingual Audience Workshop

Thursday, June 6, 2013 to Friday, June 7, 2013

NISE Net partners representing twenty informal education centers around the country explored how to better engage Hispanic/Latino audiences with nano.

Event

AAM Annual Meeting and Museum Expo 2013

Sunday, May 19, 2013 to Wednesday, May 22, 2013

Learn more about NISE Network professional networking events at the AAM 2013 Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo.

Event

National Chemistry Week 2012

Sunday, October 21, 2012 to Saturday, October 27, 2012

National Chemistry Week 2012's theme is: theme is Nanotechnology: The Smallest BIG Idea in Science.  For more information: 

Event

Nano & Society Workshop

Wednesday, September 5, 2012 to Thursday, October 4, 2012

The workshop focused on preparing museum educators to engage the public in conversations about the relationship between nanotechnology and society. Workshop participants learned new hands-on activities, full-length programs, and ideas for facilitating visitor experiences in the Nano mini-exhibition. The workshop provided specific training and skill-building in nano and society content, conversation facilitation, and improving and learning from professional practice (Team Based Inquiry). The skills developed in the workshop are readily applied to floor facilitation of other topics, as well. Upon completion, all participants received activity kits, take-home training resources, and post-workshop follow up opportunities.

Event