2010 Kavli Price in Nanoscience

Vrylena Olney

The Kavli Prize recently announced their 2010 winners, and Don Eigler of IBM's Almaden Research Centre and Nadrian Seeman of New York University won in the nanoscience category.  Eigler was the first person to move an individual atom in a controlled way, and Seeman is "the founding father of structural DNA nanotechnology."  You can read more about the scientists' work in the attached Kavli award explanatory notes.

The awards go to scientists whose discoveries have "dramatically expanded human understanding in the fields of astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience."  The prize winners recieve a share of a $1,000,000 prize for each of the fields and of course, the glory of winning.

A few NISE Net activities and resources that might be relevant:

The Kavli prize is a partnership between The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, The Kavli Foundation (US) and The Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research.  Find more information at www.kavliprize.no

Attached files